jump to navigation

Networking Rewards October 31, 2007

Posted by emsgeiss in WAHM/WAHD Stuff, writing/editing/blogging.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

A couple of weeks ago I started networking at business and learning’s Tuesday night chats. (Every Tuesday at 9 p.m., EST.) A fellow AW member introduced me to site. I have been learning so much and the camaraderie is delightful. Business & Learning also holds the Work at Home Expo, a three-day on-line event, which this year is Nov. 13-15, and I managed to work up the courage to not just attend (registration is free to attend), but also be a presenter. I’ll be presenting about theWAHMmagazine, my latest venture. 

Last night in addition to having our usual networking chat, we also did Web site critiques. Everybody should do that. You get such good feedback about how your site looks in other browsers, in other platforms and honest feedback about what works and doesn’t work with your site and how to make it better.  I felt that what I got was a lot like what I give when I edit for my clients. When you design your site, like with writing, you are too close to it to really be objective about how it looks and functions.  So to have a second (third or fourth) pair of eyes look at it from the objective point-of-view of someone who hasn’t anything personal to gain or lose, is a tremendous experience. What’s more, to have respected professionals like Tammy Munson and Wendy Cooper, who run business and learning and the WAH Expo, and Shannon Cherry—who is a featured speaker at this year’s WAH Expo, was mind-blowing.  The input from everyone who participated was great.  If it weren’t for some much-needed sleep and having a couple of deadlines to meet, I’d have gone straight to my design program and started making the suggested changes.   It was truly a rewarding experience, and I can’t wait for the next networking chat or for the Expo!

