jump to navigation

And that’s why they’re called “clips” November 6, 2007

Posted by emsgeiss in Nablopomo, writing/editing/blogging.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Sunday, I had two articles published in my local paper. Unfortunately, this time, they weren’t also published in the paper’s Web content, so I had to break out the old tools of the trade: the exact-o knife, scissors and glue and go through the painstaking process of spicing and gluing them to 8.5 x 11-inch sheets, scanning them, saving them to PDF and uploading them to my server. 

As writers, we get so used to modern technology…our fingers not as strong as they would have been in days of yore, since we type on ergonomic laptops and not on steely Underwoods; we have voice recorders and don’t need to know that ancient language of short-hand; and most of the time, we can just hyperlink to our clips with just a quick click or two.   The technology that I take for granted, today, I appreciate to its fullest, finding that even with what I though was a steady hand and good tools, I no longer have the same clip-creation skills that I did a decade ago. I’m just plain out of practice, because physically clipping is rare. 

And yet, we still use this term to describe our portfolio of articles, a relic of earlier days in the writing world.  And now, I remember why.

So what’s a girl to do when she really needs a clip that doesn’t look like a third-grader’s collage? Why you contact your editor, and see if they can provide you with a PDF of the page, as I learned from the trusted wisdom of a fellow member at Absolute Write.  

And strangely enough, ask and you shall receive. In less than an hour, I had my clips, as professional as I’d imagined, looking better than they do on the newsprint–shiny, new unclipped clips to add to my virtual portfolio. 

