jump to navigation

Tag. Tagging. Tagged. Will Tag. December 11, 2007

Posted by emsgeiss in networking, parenting & family, Uncategorized, WAHM/WAHD Stuff, writing/editing/blogging.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Ah, the word “Tag.” It has so many meanings. 

For my son, the Amazing Toddler, it means chasing Mama around the house, screaming and giggling with the utmost glee—the kind of glee you wish you could bottle and use on a gloomy day. 

For our mothers and grandmothers and doting aunts, it’s that annoying thing with the size and washing instructions on it that always seems to stick up from your shirt that they must flatten for you—incessantly. 

For graffiti artists and gangbangers alike, it means spray painting your colors or the name of your “crew” upon public surfaces.

For Gen-Xers and Gen-Yers it means trying to “hook up” or “knock boots” as in the phrase “tag that ass” often used by beergoggling fratboys hoping to score. 

But in the blogosphere, it means that you have been selected by a fellow blogger to  participate in a textual social chain event.

Helena at http://houndshome.blogspot.com/ has tagged me, so now, I’m “it.”

These are the Rules:

Link to the tagger and post these rules on your blog. Share five facts about yourself on your blog, some random, some weird. Tag five people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blogs. Let them know they are tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

1. Random fact about me: I’ve played the violin since I was five. Strange coincidence that I started the violin at the age of five and that there are five facts that I have to present? I think not.

2. I have a sick and twisted sense of humor. If you don’t believe me, see my post about Chia pets. I think I may have sent Chia pets where they have never gone before and where they probably never will go (we hope).

3. I’m a work-at-home mom with an adorable boy, Michael. How could I not write something about being a mom or about my little Bean? My husband and I gave him the nickname “Bean” when I was pregnant. Having been “elderly prima gravida” (nice term, huh?) our first ultrasound was at six weeks pregnant. He was the size of a coffee bean, and since we neither knew the sex at that point, nor wanted to reveal any potential names to family members (yeah, we told our parents right away) we called the little zygot that would soon be our son, “Bean.” The name stuck.

4. As a work-at-home mom, I started the magazine theWAHMmagazine…a digital magazine for work-at-home parents that launches in January. I’m actually one half of a work-at-home couple. My husband telecommutes from his primary job once a week, which is kind of cool, because he “gets it” on most days.

5. Now, I’m stumped. I’m thinking I should have saved my juggling post for this, but you all know that I can juggle…so I can’t use that as a random fact. 

 Searching. Searching. Ah! I’ve got it.

I think that I may be one of the few Americans (mind you, I have not done any sort of scientific poll about this, it’s just my opinion) that has had the amazing opportunity to experience both of the most poignant moments in life: birth and death. 

When my grandmother died five years ago (there it is again, the number five), my mom and I were with her at the moment when she drew her last breath. She had been suffering from a staph infection which she contracted while in hospice after an operation performed on her related to her Multiple Mylenoma, which is a lesser known form of bone-marrow cancer. (Most of us are familiar with Leukemia as being “the” bone marrow cancer.) It was a very pivotal moment, for up until that point, death seemed a scary thing to me. I spent several weeks with her at the hospital (I lived the closest to where she was being cared for) and would walk from my apartment up Boylston Street late at night even to be with her. I’d talk with her, sing to her, read Psalms to her (she always loved the Psalms).  The nurses would let me stay with her, even after visiting hours were over, especially as her prognosis turned dire. But, I witnessed peace, and it was beautiful. Sure, it was sad for us…my mother loosing hers, me loosing my grandma (and a second mother in a sense), but at the same time, it was a strangely warm and happy moment. 

The other moment of  course, being a mama myself now, was when our son was born…completely naturally—a vaginal delivery with no pain medication and in a hospital where I was free to have the birth experience that I wanted (unless there was pending trauma to me or our child), and it was at that moment, that I think I felt the most connected to my mom and my grandmother although neither of them were physically there with me (yes, my mom’s still alive).  There was pain, yes, but there were no moments of ire or comedy between me and my husband. Right before the final couple of pushes, I remember grabbing my husband’s hand looking into his eyes, which were wet with tears of joy, and both of us simultaneously saying “I love you.” 

And it’s at those two moments in my life that I have felt simultaneously the most human and the most spiritual.

And now, for me to be the tagger. Who’s in my five?

I tag Mysti at My Journey, whose most recent blog post is about an amazing idea, Dawn at It Had to Be Said, Plaidearthworm at Weird Its: Sticky Notes from the Strange, Amydoodle at Mind over Mullis and Julie at Not Enough Coffee.

There are many others whom I wish I too could tag as well, but alas, the rules say “five,” so five it is.

© 2007 Erika-Marie S. Geiss

Comments

1. Michele - December 11, 2007

Good job on the meme, Erika! I especially enjoyed the end of your post about your grandmother. There’s nothing quite like a grandmother…

2. emsgeiss - December 11, 2007

Thanks Michele! 🙂 It’s true…grandmothers are amazing in so many ways.

3. Elrena - December 11, 2007

Oooh, I saw your magazine announced over on Literary Mama! How very cool. 🙂

(I will be back to comment more properly later, but I just wanted to post this quick while I was both a) thinking about it and b) not being climbed on by anyone!)

4. Mrasey - December 11, 2007

Congrats on the magazine–the website looks great. I may be a WAHM come February. I’ll have to subscribe!

RE: Bean. We called ours bullet because at six weeks she looked like a bullet hole in my uterus. Then it was goober and finally babetko which is little baby in my husband’s native language.

M

5. Michele - December 11, 2007

Hi Erika,

Thanks for including me on your Fabulous Sites list! I’ve returned the favor and linked to you in my Favorite Writer-Related Blogs list 😉

Smiles,
Michele

6. Dawn - December 11, 2007

Have you ever read Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game and the rest of the series? There’s a Bean in that book, and he’s QUITE a kid!

Thanks for tagging me. (I think.) LOL

7. Melaniehoo - December 11, 2007

What? No mention of the mattress tags, to be removed under penalty of death? lol

Great job on the meme!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

