jump to navigation

On the third day of Christmas… December 27, 2007

Posted by emsgeiss in Humor & Satire, parenting & family, Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback
…I wrote a Christmas meme. 

xmas-blogpost-16.jpg

Since Christmas is technically 12 days long, today being the third day of Christmas, instead of imparting three French hens to my dearly loved readers, instead I have saved my Christmas meme for today.  Boddie at Finding Boddie tagged all of us over at Absolute Write, so here I go. From what I understand the rules of the original meme includes tagging seven others, but in the spirit of sharing and giving at Christmastime, I too will leave this meme open ended.

1. Wrapping or gift bags? Wrapping—I’m not fond of gift bags, except when travelling with gifts and then I use them to carry the wrapped gifts. I love wrapping gifts, although I have been told that my gifts are often the most difficult ones to unwrap.  Shouldn’t gifts look as great on the outside as what’s on the inside?

xmas-blogpost.jpg

2. Real or artificial tree?
We once did real. In fact both my husband and I grew up with real trees, but we now have an artificial tree.
 

3. When do you put up the tree?
Christmas Eve. No sooner and no later
.


4. When do you take the tree down?  
If not on Jan. 6th (Epiphany or the 12th day of Christmas), shortly thereafter.

7. Do you have a nativity scene?  Yes. But we keep it up high so that our son doesn’t run off with the baby Jesus, like my little brother did one year at my parent’s house. I guess he thought the baby was cold and belonged in a bed instead of a manger on the windowsill. 
 
8. Worst Christmas gift you ever received.
In the spirit of Christmas, I will be charitable and just say that no gift given from the heart could be a bad gift.  


9. Mail or email Christmas cards?  
A little bit of both. For people whose e-mail addresses I have, they get the e-mail version, everyone else on our list gets a card in the mail.

10. Favorite Christmas movie?  
You know, I don’t really have one, but the classic kids ones always bring joy: Peanuts, Rudolph and the Year without a Santa Claus.

11. When do you start shopping for Christmas?
I start shopping the week or two before Christmas. Point, click, pay, send.  Between the “we-didn’t-make-the-anticipated-windfall-profits-from-Black-Friday” sales and the fact that I hate shopping and long lines during the rest of the year, it’s the way to go for me.

12. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas?
Anything except for cheesecake and the more chocolate the better.

13. Clear lights or colored on the tree?  
Clear.

14. Favorite Christmas song?  
I can’t just pick one, there are many that I love so, I’ll list my top five: Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas, What Child is This? God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen,  Adeste Fideles (and yes, in Latin, not in English) and the Coventry Carol.

15. Travel at Christmas or stay home?  
The last few years, we’ve stayed at home. Our first Christmas together, my husband and I wanted to be home, in our house for Christmas. Our second Christmas together, I was way too far along in my pregnancy to get on any plane or drive for hours for that matter to go anywhere. The bladder can only take so much sitting in a car, with or without Depends or Poise. Last year was our son’s first Christmas, and again we wanted to be home for that, and this year was the first Christmas that he’d begin to understand (and possibly remember), so home we stayed.
 

16. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?
Frighteningly, yes I can. Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner and Blitzen, and of course Rudolph. Is it just me, or does this team sound like a drag queen revue for a circuit party?


17. Angel on the tree top or a star?
Angel

18. Open the presents Christmas Eve or Christmas morning?  
Christmas morning.

19. Most annoying thing about this time of year?  
The way that the media and retailers have turned Christmas into the holiday of conspicuous consumption, that Christmas merchandise starts appearing right after Halloween and that despite all of that, we can no longer say, “Merry Christmas,” without the fear of offending someone.

20. Do you decorate your tree in any specific theme or color?  
I do the little trees around the house in certain themes, but for our main tree, our theme is family history, since all of our ornaments bear some sort of family significance.

21. What do you leave for Santa?
Homebrewed beer; but once our little guy gets bigger, I imagine that Santa will be left milk and cookies.


22. Least favorite holiday song?
Grandma Got Run Over By a Reindeer.

23. Favorite ornament?  
I have three. Every year, my husband buys us special ornaments. The kissing bears are my favorite of that set. xmas-blogpost-19.jpg
Then there’s the ornament from my sister that is a s’more snowman inside a snowglobe;

xmas-blogpost-18.jpg

and my favorite ornament of my husband’s from his childhood is Santa’s head. There’s something funny about Santa’s decapitated head hanging from our tree.       xmas-blogpost-20.jpg

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. 🙂

Merry Christmas!

Comments

1. Writing the Cyber Highway - December 28, 2007

Great meme! I’m glad you participated 🙂

You wrap very beautiful presents!

Hope you had a wonderful Christmas!

2. Arachne Jericho - December 28, 2007

Great meme post! With pictures!

Never thought about the reindeer drag circuit. Tee hee.

I feel much better about leaving my awesome little tree up, with the 12 days of Christmas and all that. I always thought the 12 days were some kind of count-down. Woohoo, I get to leave my tree up legitimately!

Thanks, by the way, for the tip about shopping near Christmas Eve. That was VERY helpful!

3. emsgeiss - December 28, 2007

Thanks for the comments! 🙂

4. swededad - December 28, 2007

For an great rant about Christmas shopping and the state of women’s clothes, see http://rachellucas.com/?p=484 . And don’t skip the comments!

Happy New Year!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

