jump to navigation

Five things about this mom May 11, 2008

Posted by emsgeiss in networking, parenting & family, writing/editing/blogging.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

This week is MommyFest — a week-long virutal conference and blog party. It’s also MommyFest’s fifth birthday. One of the blog party activities is a mom meme, five things about me.

So, here goes…

1. I’m 37 and mother to a sweet little 27-month-old toddler, which means (if you do the math) that when I was pregnant with him, I was given the delicious title of elderly prima gravida. Only in obstetrics is over 35 considered “elderly.”

2. Professionally, for over a decade, I’ve been a writer, editor and art historian. I became a WAHM after my son was born and I’ve just finished my third book The Right Words for Any Occasion (Publications, Int’l), which is due out in the fall. I’m also the publisher and editor-in-chief of theWAHMmagazine, the only digital magazine for work-at-home parents, which is a subsidiary of Red Pencil Editing Services, the company that I started in 2001.

3. I’m super proud of the fact that I had a completely natural, unmedicated childbirth experience and nursed my son until he was 17 months old, and that when he started solids, I made all of his baby food.

4. I’m a political wife, and it’s campaign season as I work on my husband’s campaign for a higher office than his current position. (Ooh, ahh.)

5. I’m a trained classical violinist, and have been playing since I was five.

So those are my five things. To see who else did the Mom Meme visit MommyFest.com by clicking the image below.

Comments

1. Shannon - May 11, 2008

A trained classical violinist…that is awesome.

Happy Mother’s Day!

2. kristen - May 12, 2008

I am just impressed by your ability to have a natural birth! Mine was so awful, that this always amazes me.

Found you on Mommy Fest! Check out my 5 Things, if you get a chance.

3. Shawna - May 12, 2008

You are better than me girl.. I had an epidural with each of my girls. LOL about being elderly having a baby.. So true!

4. Mommy-mentor - May 13, 2008

It is nice to meet you! Just stopping in from Mommyfest!

5. Sherrie - May 14, 2008

I had an epidural, too, but wanted to go natural. A certain someone didn’t want to wait and I had an emergency c-section. I found you on MommyFest and will be checking out your magazine.

6. LynnSC - May 15, 2008

Count me in on the “advanced maternal age” thing. While I was pregnant with my youngest daughter…. I received a letter in the mail that was a carbon copy to a letter sent to the insurance agency explaining my need for multiple ultrasounds…. ADVANCED MATERNAL AGE. Wow…. like I needed that at 35.

Anyway… it was actually the best thing ever.
I found you on Mommyfest…. check mine out to if you get a chance.

7. 5th Annual MommyFest » Blog Archive » And the winners are …. - May 19, 2008

[…] Erika – Winner of 5 Things About Me Meme […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

