jump to navigation

Rock On! It’s MommyFest 2008 May 12, 2008

Posted by emsgeiss in networking, parenting & family, WAHM/WAHD Stuff, writing/editing/blogging.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

“The what?” You say. The fifth annual MommyFest online conference and blog party. I’m really psyched to be a part of it. It looks like it is  going to be a full week of talks, prizes, networking, making connections and a whole lot of blogging. Fingers are crossed that the boy, the man and the Internet cooperate with me.

So who are the boy, the man and the Internet? Well…the last one you already know if you’re reading this. If you don’t know … well, just ask Al Gore.

The boy, is my darling 27-month-old son, Michael, the aspiring writer. (Really, he is … he is going to follow in Mama’s footsteps. At least that’s the trajectory he seems to be on, and is my latest obsession.)  The man, is my darling husband, Doug, who is not an aspiring writer, but is an engineer and a public servant (we don’t use the other P-word, even though it does make me a political wife).

Who am I? I’m a work-at-home mom, like many of the MommyFest participants, a writer, blogger, editor and the publisher/and editor-in-chief of theWAHMmagazine. I”m originally from the Boston area, now transplanted in Michigan (hence the title of my blog, since Michigan is the state that’s shaped like a mitten). I actually started my home-based editing business as a part-time venture when I was in graduate school for art and architectural history, long before I was married or a parent. When my husband and I decided to start a family, it made sense to kick it up a notch and make it my primary job, since we always knew that at least one of us would be a work-at-home parent. Now, we’re a work-at-home family, me full-time, DH telecommuting part of the week from his full-time job. It’s a pretty nifty lifestyle.

I’m really looking forward to this week, spending more time with some of the moms I already know who are participating and getting to meet many others. Oh yeah, and theWAHMmagazine is also one of the sponsors and MommyFest participants get a special offer on a one-year subscription to the magazine.  Find out more at MommyFest! 😀

Rock on! It’s MommyFest 2008!

Comments

1. milet - May 12, 2008

i am meeting a lot of great mommies through mommfest and you are one of them.

btw, if you have time please visit me at http://www.momiespace.com/

2. Crystal - May 12, 2008

I hope you have a blast at Mommy Fest! Come check out our scavenger hunt today!

Crystal
http://chrysanthemoms.com

3. picturing - May 12, 2008

Hi,

nice to meet you in MommyFest blog party 😀

Hope meet you in my Picturing of Life blog. See you there…

4. juliana rw - May 12, 2008

Hi,

My name is Juliana and I joined also MommyFest blog party. Nice to meet you.

I hope you come to visit me also at Juliana‘s Site

Dag…

5. Notes From My Nest - May 12, 2008

Just dropping in from Mommyfest! It’s nice to meet you! If you have time this week, check out the MOTHER’S DAY BLOG BASH GIVEAWAY going on at notesfrommynest.blogspot.com…GIVEAWAYS from Serena & Lily, Hand Picked Pumpkin, Modern June, Silly Jilly Bean, Pink Lemonade Bags, My Pink Zebra Boutique, Kenarie’s and many more!

I’m also about to begin a new feature called “Coffee with…” that will put the spotlight on a new mom blogger each week. If you’re interested in being featured, check it out!

6. Kim - May 12, 2008

Hi, It’s so nice to meet you. I hope you come visit my blog and don’t forget to enter my contest. 🙂 Happy Blog Partying!

7. Gina - May 13, 2008

Nice to meet you. You know, I’ve never thought or heard that MI was shaped like a mitten, that is a first for me lol.

Hope your enjoying MommyFest!

8. Jenny - May 13, 2008

Nice to meet you! Just dropping in from the party to say hi! 🙂

9. Jennifer Tankersley - May 14, 2008

I just read that you have a book coming out in the fall. That is wonderful! Congratulations!! Great to meet you.

http://www.listmamablog.com

10. Angie - May 14, 2008

Stopping by from Mommy Fest. Nice to meet you.

11. Organized Families - May 15, 2008

Thank you for sharing your blog 🙂
I am really enjoying this blog fest !
Stop By the Almost Always Organized Mom’s blog (Organizedfamilies.com) and win some free advertising and a free featured listing on Herblogdirectory.com
~k
The almost always organized mom

12. Heather Quarnstrom - May 16, 2008

It’s so great to meet you in the Mommyfest Blog Party!

I hope to see you at my blog also. (I was a little late putting my site in the links, but you can go to The “Official” Heather Quarnstrom Blog.) Don’t forget to enter the contests while you’re there. 😀

I hope you had a great Mother’s Day!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

