jump to navigation

What I’ve learned since being a mom May 16, 2008

Posted by emsgeiss in mommyfest, networking, parenting & family, writing/editing/blogging.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I’ve learned many things since becoming a mom, among them:

  • To always accept the soggy cheerios from a toddler’s outstretched hand…they are unprompted tokens of affection and appreciation.
  • To take long walks, and during them, stop and examine the ants on the sidewalk, chase a bird or two, and become mesmerized by the way leaves dance in a soft breeze.
  • That puddles are not a nuisance. Puddles are for jumping and splashing in. (There are always towels, dry clothes and hot chocolate afterwards.)
  • There is no greater joy than the sound of your child’s giggles, especially when accompanied by Papa’s guffaws.
  • Watching and listening to my husband read my son a bedtime story can melt my heart and make me fall in love with him again, no matter how ticked off I might have been earlier.
  • Mama milk is magic.
  • Mama kisses are magic.
  • Nothing can prepare you for the heartbreak of hearing or seeing your child in pain, especially when it’s a pain that you can’t make go away with magic kisses.
  • My heart is bigger than I could have ever imagined.
  • That my own mom was even more amazing that I ever realized, because now, I understand.

Comments

1. Original Cyn Studios - May 16, 2008

Thanks for sharing these wonderful thoughts! It is wonderful being a mom.

2. Dr. Paul - May 16, 2008

Kids restore and remind us of the fresh appreciation for life and the simple pleasures. We have 2-year-old twins next door, and one of our favorite family activities (our own kids are teen boys and an 11-year-old girl) is going outside to watch the babies play. They can get the biggest kick out of a stick or a small puddle. One of my favorite things is to watch my boys watch the babies – magic. Thanks for your thoughts!

3. kirsty815 - May 16, 2008

I love the cheerio one because I can’t tell you how many times I’ve recieved those. First time to your site, love this post.

Kirst

4. Michele - May 18, 2008

Aw, great post, Erika! Thanks for sharing this with us. 😉

*smiles*

5. Audrey - May 18, 2008

Not only soggy cheerios but also the many other partially eaten and partially chewed goodies that kids love to offer to their moms. What a great post. I found you through the MommyFest. Even though it’s over, I’m loving still visiting blogs and meeting folks.

6. C. Erickson - May 20, 2008

This is a great list Erika. Add me to the fan club for the “soggy cheerios” one. It took having a child for me to understand a mom’s willingness to receive those kinds of gifts.

7. Tishia Lee - May 26, 2008

Oh the days of soggy cheerios, half eaten cheese, pieces of hot dogs…now that my son is 9 & we don’t share this kind of ‘affection’ anymore it kind of makes me gag thinking back on those days of partially eaten food or soggy things he would so eagerly and happily feed to me. LOL!

Great list Erika.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

