jump to navigation

To sleep or not to sleep…or rather, when May 23, 2008

Posted by emsgeiss in Business Issues, Cyber Savvy Show, Green & Frunchy, Humor & Satire, networking, parenting & family, toddlers, WAHM/WAHD Stuff.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

My mom and grandma used to marvel at how I was such an early riser as a baby. Apparently, even after my birth, which was late at night and when most sane people getting ready to turn in, I was up the next morning…at dawn.

Now, not so much. My late-teen and early adult years turned me into a bona fide night owl. Maybe it was the late nights studying. Maybe it was the late nights partying. I don’t know. Whatever it was, it definitely made a marked shift in my sleeping vs. waking patterns and preference. In fact, in many ways, it’s what’s made being a work-at-home professional with a kid (um, a WAHM that is), a bit easier. It’s quiet at night. And the chances for any interruptions in thought process or work flow are slim to none.

That was working for a while, until I found that trying to keep up with an active and energetic toddler and my husband’s schedule on night-owl sleep patterns just doesn’t cut it for the stress levels (or patience). I also have to mention, that I am not a napper. Never have been. So, catching a couple of Zs in the middle of the day doesn’t work for me. (My husband on the other hand … he’s out when his head hits the pillow … regardless of the time of day.) That whole “sleep when the baby sleeps” is a bunch of bunk for me, because as a work-at-home professional, his nap time is when I can handle my business calls and get a solid chunk of work done while other people are actually up. (I’m not complaining, it’s just a fact.)

So, here I sit…working. I’ve been up since about 5:30 a.m. thanks to the alarm on my cell phone. It meant that I didn’t have to wake anyone else at that ungodly hour by the blaring of a loud alarm. We’ll see how this morning thing works out for me. It is quiet. I have been productive so far.

The only crappy thing about this adventure in becoming an early bird is that I may have to start buying ground coffee instead of beans, since the grinder on our coffee maker is loud enough to awaken even the deepest of sleepers three counties over.

Copyright © 2008, Erika-Marie S. Geiss


Comments

1. Tishia Lee - May 26, 2008

It’s going on 3 weeks now that I’ve implemented my new schedule (bedtime at 11pm every night – including weekends, and getting up between 5:30-6am every day) and I’m finally starting to get into the groove of things and feel like a normal human being. The days of brain fog are gone, the days of afternoon naps are gone.

I used to be a night owl staying up until anywhere from 2-4am and then having to get up with my son around 6:30-7am! That wasn’t a pretty picture. I like this whole routine thing 🙂

2. Michele - May 28, 2008

It’s quite easy to burn out, isn’t it? *hugs* If that helps….

The coffee? Grind it the night before. It’s better than buying pre-ground.

*smiles*
Michele


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

