jump to navigation

A child’s prayer June 18, 2008

Posted by emsgeiss in parenting & family, toddlers.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Yesterday, when I turned on the Evening News with Brian Williams, they were covering scenes of the viewers who lined up for hours to view Tim Russert’s body as it lay in state.

Michael is a constant chatter box, and at 28 months, some of what he says is still completely unintelligible, remnants of echolaic babble combined with the utterances of a toddler whose tongue isn’t quite able to match what his brain thinks it’s creating.

Watching the coverage and half listening to Michael, I heard from his little mouth: “bablebablebable God, babblebablebablebable blah blah blah babble babble blah blah blah. Amen.”

Michael has only been to one wake in his conscious memory. The first he attended when he was still a babe-in-arms; the second was a few weeks ago when my husband’s uncle’s mother-in-law died. At that wake, before we left, he insisted that he had to go up to the casket, where he knelt and did what he saw all the grown-ups do: make the sign of the cross.

At the time, it was cute ā€” the actions of a toddler who wanted to be involved, simply mimicking the adults around him.

Apparently however, sometime between the wake a few weeks ago and yesterday, when he witnessed the televised event, Michael made the connection between seeing a casket and spirituality, as he babbled his heart-felt prayer.

I don’t know what he said between uttering “God” and “Amen.” Only he and God know for sure. But that’s one prayer that I’m sure will get through.

Copyright Ā© 2008, Erika-Marie S. Geiss

Comments

1. Shannon Smith - June 19, 2008

That’s a great story, Erika! Thanks for sharing. That is a feel good story. Love it!

2. emsgeiss - June 19, 2008

Thanks Shannon! It was one of those moments where I wish I’d been recording. The best ones always seem to escape the camera.

3. Michele - Writing the Cyber Highway - June 21, 2008

This is precious, Erika! I’m so glad you shared it with us!

Oh, and I finally posted that meme you tagged me for. Sorry it took so long!

*smiles*
Michele

4. rosemerry - June 27, 2008

That is really great. Hopefully it will stick with him as he grows up.

5. colbymarshall - June 28, 2008

That’s pretty cute– and coming from me, the one who dislikes children, that’s saying something šŸ™‚

6. Tishia Lee - July 2, 2008

Oh that is so sweet Erika! And yes it seems like all the great moments we never capture on video or camera.

7. DJ Evans - July 3, 2008

Sometimes I think my children teach me so much more about spirituality and what God means than I will ever be able to teach them–the words escape me to explain. Precious. Thanks for sharing.

8. Miss Lissy - July 3, 2008

I find this incredibly touching. I hope Michael grows up to be something special (and I think he will be).

9. Laurie Ashton - July 8, 2008

Michael sounds like a great kid. šŸ™‚


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

